Spit-roast IV – Another heart

July 26, 2010

As I got a handful of hearts from the butcher, I decided to hone the spit-roasted heart somewhat, the aim now not only being to check if it is possible to cook, but also to create a recipe that also tastes nice, unless one has a phobia against innards -or lambs.

This dish was a slight alteration to the one cooked previously, using a filling of lingon-/cow-berries, juniper berries, bacon, alpine leek and thyme. In this approach of the dish I will not only baste the heart with some honey, but also mix some honey into the filling of the heart.

As the heart was somewhat bigger than the first one, I had planned to cook it for an hour and a half. It was also a bit fattier than the first, which I assumed would influence the taste of it Due to the weather and guide conditions this was a day for cooking outside, though the wind was rather on the windier side. That made the fire burn quickly and warm, once I got it started, something that might have influenced the cooking time. As the heart was cooked I basted it generously first with honey and later with the drippings that formed under the heart

Due to the heavy wind and hot embers, the outside soon looked quite cooked with a nice brown surface forming, so I decided to check the heart with a small cut after about an hour, instead of the predicted extra time. At this time the heart had diminished somewhat in size and was a bit bouncy when I touched it with the tip of my knife. As I cut into it it seemed nice and sort of light brown/grey in the area of the cut. Being outside in daylight allowed me to study the cut areas a bit closer, and I could notice how the meat had a meaty colour to start with and then as it laid about for a short while the blood seeped out to the surface turning the meat more pink, which gave it a slightly undercooked look The taste was still nice, and perhaps with a bit more presence of the filling. The honey taste was however mainly present in the glazing rather than in the filling

I noticed, as I brought home the remains and fried them up, to eat for supper that when fried to much the colour turned a darker grey and the taste was more livery than before. This convinced me to keep the hearts in the range of colour and cooking as I had done the last two days.

Leave a Reply

