Malt II

June 16, 2010

Another possible way of using the malt would be to use it for baking. A bread with some malt will gain some in flavour and sweetness I assume, but perhaps loose some in texture.

To start this experiment I ground a handful of malted barley, to my surprise it was extremely easy to grind, so easy that I in fact got something flourlike by only putting the malt through the hand quern once. I was a bit cautious at first as I though some old flour had been left behind mixing in with the malt. But the greyish colour and a distinct smell revealed it to be indeed malt. I then mixed 1/3 malt with 2/3 of regular barley flour, on this I poured some hot water in order to get even more sugar out of the malt. A very distinctive brewing smell arose from the dough making me think that I at least made something right. As I tried to form the bread I noticed that it was even more difficult than usual but still manageable. The bread was form into small cakes that was baked on the pans. The resulting bread, although a bit coarse due to the chaffs, was somewhat sweeter and more full in taste when compared to regular bread.

Although a possible bread from the time no such bread has been found, but the question is if it is possible to discern it from a regular bread.

8 Responses to “Malt II”

  1. A friend of mine who built a rotary quern often roasts his barley in the oven briefly before grinding, as he says it is much easier to grind that way. Ground, roasted barley goes really well stirred into skyr, too. I haven’t tried it mixed with sour milk, but that might be good too, much like Tibetan barley tea…

  2. Told you so!🙂 malted grain is SO much easier to grind than unmalted grain. Origin of Grain Agriculture. It’s the malt sugars, I have tried to explain it in writing but I think it is something you have to experience for yourself.

    When and where are you going to publish? !

    • eldrimner said

      At the very least there will be some kind of report published for this museum on their wepage, but I think I’ll include some kind of conclusion of my experiments as an appendix to my dissertation when ever that is finished.

      It was almost to easy to grind it, I would have wanted a middle stage that could be used for brewing, now I have to find some evidence for some kind of viking age pestle with which to crush the malt.

      • I just saw a picture this week, maybe in Hansson’s On Plant Food… of a very tall mortar that looked almost like a tall thin butter churn with a long, heavy “pestle” for cracking grain. I haven’t seen any references to Viking period ones that I can recall, but I suspect they used something like that.

      • eldrimner said

        Hmm, have to look through that book again, but yes that is actually something that I imagine as well, though I think that her picture must have been medival in origin. But it would be great to find some wooden obect from the Viking Age that could have been used as a pestle. By using a hand quern the malt gets far to fine to be used for brewing. Unless there was a reason to use it almost flourlike.

  3. Hi Daniel, Graham the brewer here. This malt syrup is the “honey” from the Biblical quote “Land of milk and honey”. Rabinnical scholars and Israeli archaeologists agree that this “honey” (used 16 times in the bible) is not Bee Honey but some manufactured or synthetic sweetness, probably made from dates or figs. They would not accept that it is “wort” from the Barley. But to me the “Land of milk and honey” is a metaphor for the rich agricultural land fit for cows and cereal crops. I’ve been making wort for 28 years and fermenting it, but until one has actually got one’s hands sticky doing it one does not understand!
    Cheers, or should I say skall.

    • eldrimner said

      Considering the babylonical brewing tradition that would make some sense. I would agree that sometimes a hands-on experience is needed to be ale to ask the right questions. Adding a small post on my attempts at making malt syrup in a few minutes.

Leave a Reply

