Milling again

June 14, 2010

Barley after the first milling

As I still could not use the fire today, I decided to return to the milling experiment. Though I managed to more or less calculate the time it took for me to mill a certain amount of grain, and I could conclude that I needed to put the grains through the quern at least six times. However, in order to reach a more scientific conclusion and to be able to use the quern not only to mill flour, but also grist and other sizes that could be used for other things than baking, I decided to document the varying sizes that the barley displayed after each turn.

Although I settled on six millings last time, it was not so clear cut, though each additional milling would produce a finer and finer flour, there was always some coarser grains in the mix. In order to gain a fine flour with no coarser pieces one would have had to sieve the flour. On the other hand, if one were to sieve the flour, already the fifth milling would have produced a product that would have been usable, though there would have been a larger amount of pieces that should be returned to the mill.

The only problem is that I do not know of any surviving find of sieves from this early period.

Pictures are forthcoming…

2 Responses to “Milling again”

  1. ArchAsa said

    Interesting. Could they have used cloth to toss the flour and separate the larger prieces enough to remove them by hand? Or did they just not care enough to bother?

  2. eldrimner said

    I guess that it would be possible, I’ll have to look through “Gräddat” again to see what she actually writes about grainsizes. The sagas seem to suggest a difference in quality of bread- but that is always a difficult source.

    It would not surprise me though.

Leave a Reply

