A simple cheese

June 5, 2010

The finished cheese

A rather common activity with kids in Swedish museums is to make what is often called “skörost”, that is to boil soured milk until it curdles and then separate curds and whey. The remaining curds are filtered and then mixed with salt and whatever herbs one has available. Although the quite common use of this dish, I decided that it could be interesting to test using a soapstonevessel.

In the pot I poured about 1 litre of soured milk (kultur mjölk) this I brought to the boil, and afterwards let it simmer for quite some time, the result was rather small curds, and as I let it simmer for a while a not to sour whey. After the whey had reduced some I took the curds up and pressed out the remaining whey using my hand. Almost identical to what you may see in some medieval images of cheese making the whey poured down on the floor – to the joy of any pets if we had kept any in the house.

The result was a rather dry mass of cheese, slightly sour with a taste of the leek and salt used. Although the method works quite well, I would like to see if a better texture can be achieved by just letting simmer just below the cooking point. If that would be the case potboilers may be a far better options for making this kind of simple cheese, as observed by Jacqui Wood (Wood, Jacqui, 2001, p. 96-97).

Wood, Jacqui 2001, Prehistoric cooking

4 Responses to “A simple cheese”

  1. I tried something similar with milk cultured with piima. It curdled very quickly when I heated it up. After pressing out the whey by hand, I rolled the whole thing in salt. It kept very well, and made a crumbly, dry cheese.

    • eldrimner said

      Sounds very similar in texture to the one I made…I should throw in a picture or two of that attempt tonight. Though I brought it to a boil the last time, my plan i sto just let it simmer to morrow, to see if I can get a difference in the texture. I am not sure if I am familiar with Piima though. And do you have a good reference for a recipe of skyr somewhere?

Leave a Reply

